mainpage  •  links  •  former guestbook


G.P.O.: A NEW CANON OF RUSSIAN ARCHITECTURE

by Alexei Levchuk

In Evelyn Waugh's novel 'Put Out More Flags', the main character's sister has an address book. Some of the names in it (about a third) are marked with the same letters: G.P.O. This stands for 'garden party only': these people will never be invited into her house. On the one hand, friendship with members of aristocratic families and invitations to receptions held in parks are already quite impressive. On the other hand, the fact that people marked G.P.O cannot enter the house show that they have insuperable cultural and social defects. This principle of stratification lies very deep in Anglo-Saxon official practice and is widely used to this day. In a word, a 'G.P.O. person' has very definite habits and manners - and undoubtedly a system of aesthetic views, also of a very definite level and no higher.

When the works of participants in the Gazprom competition were presented to the public, anyone with a clear view of modern Russian realities (primarily the cultural level of the political and business elite) could easily determine which project would win. It immediately stood out from the rest by its intentional mediocrity. Compared with the star projects, the RMJM proposal looked as though the authors had entered the competition by accident. However, the absurdity of the selection of the winner was determined by the absurdity of the task at hand. The very idea of building a soo-metre skyscraper on the Okhta could only occur to a person who was determined to compromise himself by clear reference to 'Culture 2"1.

Any skyscraper is a monument to corporate (or state) vanity. The name of the architect (the brand) and the formal innovation are also components of the self-presentation of the client, just like the height and expense of design. Here a corporation which seems to be conducting a serious PR campaign intentionally throws away the main 'PR' component - the chance of getting a 'star project', and accordingly high-quality architecture. All this seems inexplicable, if you believe that the client, as usual, wants to get 'the best for his money*. But if you assume that there is a certain canon which is only just forming, but already sets certain restrictions to architecture aesthetics, which are compulsory in modern Russia, then everything falls into place.

Evidently, the architecture that can be created in China or Korea is not allowed here (G.P.O.). The Russian Federation today, as we know from the mass media, is famous for its hydrocarbons, and should have appropriate architecture - suitable for a gas producing country. In this context, the origin of the RMJM team makes sense: it has been long been working successfully in the United Arab Emirates.

Starting with the competition for the project of the new stage for the Mariinsky Theatre (2003), it has been possible to trace the formation of the boundaries of architectural representation in Russia.
1. Technical complexity is not welcome, and neither is formal innovation.
2. Local features dominate2.
3. The country's involvement in the world architectural process comes from participation in closed competitions by international stars. However, the value of the projects they represent is regulated by points 1 and 2.

In the competition for the Mariinsky project, the program was organized so strictly that the proposals of foreign participants mainly differed only in their design for the fasade. Perrault's project was original, and at any rate did not repeat previous works, which later became popular among his colleagues. Perrault's subsequent difficulties in finding approval showed that his architecture did not fit in with the forming tradition. The Mariinsky competition was just the beginning, and the canon had not yet crystallized.

The competitions for the project of the reconstruction of Novaya Gollandiya (2006) and the Kirov Stadium (2006) were rather dull, despite the presence of Foster in the first and Kurokawa in the second. Foster's project for Novaya Golland-iya strangely keeps the spirit of Soviet show buildings of the 19705. Kurokawa's kinetic constructions impressed the local public, but even the technological aspect of this project is intentionally provincial.

Koolhaas's respect for Soviet modernism, which he announced several times, was especially reflected in his competition project for the 'Baltic Pearl' area in the southwest of Petersburg (2005). The pictures for the project show a typical late Soviet city district. The identical parallelepipeds placed among sickly parks in an order which can only be considered to be an ornamental pattern on the blue print or when viewed from the air are a typical Soviet design. Although compared to the original, Koolhaas's pattern is drawn in a more relaxed manner. The Soviet district also features a Niemeyer dish and a few sloping towers which previously featured in the MVRDV project for New York. De Geiter drew a tower from the same competition which in many ways repeats the OMA project for Louisville, but without the sloping volume. For de Geiter, this coincidence is not ill-intentioned. OMA, besides its project activity, is responsible for the final stage of architectural training for practically all Dutch students. And de Geiter also worked for OMA for a long time. A year after the 'Baltic Pearl', de Geiter's tower once more appeared in the OMA project for the Gazprom headquarters with a few minor changes, and the tower from the NOK project was used in the Gazprom project of RMJM without any changes at all. If the similarity of Koolhaas's and de Geiter's work is owing to their long work together and the link between pupil and teacher, the identical nature of the NOK and RMJM towers is a mystery.

Perhaps the explanation is that NOK architects found an ideal image for a building which is suitable for today's Russia. The architecture of the tower is nothing more than a newly reflected synthesis of images of sacred buildings as understood by an undeveloped mind. Symbols of fertility and movement are expressed with such Asian naivete that they are hard to imagine in a European city (which Petersburg still is). Undoubtedly, a tower of this kind would look quite organic in Dubai or Lagos, but in Caracas, not to mention Moscow, it would look rather out of place. But the architecture of NOK-RMJM is evidently valued for its primitiveness and archetypical nature. It's hard to imagine that the designers at both firms seriously think that what they have drawn is attractive. They probably worked consciously on creating an image which would clearly and unambiguously show the level that modern Russia holds in the international hierarchy.

Unlike the primitive vitality of the NOK-RMJM tower, architectural stars present projects at Russian competitions which are either repeats of their earlier work or half-hearted efforts, at a lower level than their usual work. The tower of Kolhaas - de Geiter was already mentioned, but there are also the Gazprom projects of Nouvelle (Fonde Cartier, 2006) and Fuksas (Leonidov's Narkom-tyazhprom at Fierra Milano). In a word, intellectuals and artists were not at their best, and the image of 'Russia-G.P.O.' in their interpretation did not please their clients. Naturally, the clients had to select planners-for-the-UAE3.

The nature of official rhetoric in the USSR and post-Soviet Russia means that the percentage of honest information that actually corresponds to reality is quite high. It is simply given in such peculiar forms that it seems to be just empty rhetorical talk without any meaning. This is what happened in the situation surrounding the Gazprom tower. The official plan to create a new symbol of St. Petersburg and Russia was announced quite widely, and it really is an honest and rational incentive. Petersburg is full of images which are incredibly irrelevant these days. The monuments to imperial military victories do not have anything to do with today's Russia - it is a completely different state. The only thing that seems completely wrong is erecting modern monuments next to old ones. But if the tower was moved to the southwest, closer to Strelna, everything would be fine. You shouldn't wear the badge G.P.O. on your chest, you should simply realise that this is who you are.

Alexei Levchuk is an architect and creator of public and residential interiors. In the 19905 he worked at OMA. He is the winner of several prizes for architecture and design. He is published in "Russian Project" magazine. He lives in Petersburg

1Paperny, Vladimir. "Culture 2". First published In 1985
2By local features, we mean the traditions of late Soviet modernism in both town-planning and form-building, which is perceived by foreign architects with suspicious enthusiasm
3Doesn't the Gazprom competition have almost too much in common with the competition for the Palace of Soviets? The formation of style, the western participants who were unable to convey the spir-it of the times, the final composition and size of the building -the similarities are so direct that it is embarrassing to write about them. However, the line-up of participants in today's competition is much more representative. For fans of Vladimir Paperny, this provides a lot of food for thought

from:
"PROJECT BALTIA"
№2 (2) 2007

главная  •  ссылки  •  бывшая гостевая


G.P.O.: СТАНОВЛЕНИЕ НОВОГО КАНОНА РОССИЙСКОЙ АРХИТЕКТУРЫ

текст: Алексей Левчук

В романе Ивлина Во Put Out More Flags у сестры главного героя есть записная книжка. Перед именами некоторых знакомых (примерно треть записей) стоят одинаковые пометки - G.P.O. Эта аббревиатура означает garden party only: то есть человек, маркированный подобным образом, никогда не будет приглашен в дом. С одной стороны, знакомство с членами аристократических семейств и доступ на приемы, устраиваемые в саду, - это уже немало. С другой - невозможность переступить порог дома как условие общения указывает на непреодолимые изъяны культурного и социального характера у носителя звания G.P.O. Этот принцип стратификации чрезвычайно укоренен в англосаксонской официальной практике и широко применяется в наши дни. Одним словом, "человек G.P.O." обладает совершенно определенными привычками и манерами - и, несомненно, системой эстетических воззрений, также совершенно определенного уровня и никак не выше.

Когда работы участников газпромовского конкурса были представлены публике, любой зритель, трезво оценивающий современные российские реалии (в первую очередь - культурный уровень политической и бизнес-элиты), мог безошибочно определить, какой проект победит. Он сразу выделялся из общей массы своей нарочитой второсортностью. На фоне проектов звезд предложение RMJM выглядело так, как будто его авторы попали на конкурс по ошибке. Впрочем, абсурдность выбора победителя была определена абсурдностью поставленной задачи. Сама идея строительства зоо-мет-рового небоскреба на Охте, казалось бы, могла появиться только в голове человека, решительно настроенного скомпрометировать себя явной отсылкой к "Культуре  2"1.

Любой небоскреб - это памятник корпоративному (или государственному) тщеславию. Имя архитектора (бренд) и формальная новизна - такие же слагаемые саморепрезентации заказчика, как высота или богатство отделки. Здесь же корпорация, вроде бы серьезно и агрессивно занимающаяся своим пиаром, сознательно выбрасывает основные "пиарные" составляющие проекта - возможность получить "звездный проект" и, собственно, качественную архитектуру. Все это кажется необъяснимым, если считать, что заказчик, как это обычно бывает, настроен получить "все самое лучшее за свои деньги". Однако если предположить, что существует определенный канон, только формирующийся, но уже предусматривающий некие границы архитектурной эстетики, исполнение которого обязательно в современной России, то все встает на свои места.

Очевидно, что такая архитектура, какую можно делать в Китае или Корее, у нас не допускается (G.P.O.). Современная Российская Федерация, как мы знаем из массмедиа, славна углеводородами и архитектуру должна иметь соответствующую - положенную нефтедобывающим странам. В таком контексте сразу становится понятным, откуда появилась команда-победитель RMJM: они давно и успешно работают в ОАЭ.

Начиная с конкурса на проект новой сцены Мариинского театра (2003) можно проследить становление конфигурации границ архитектурной репрезентации в России.
1. Технологическая сложность не приветствуется, так же как и формальная новизна.
2. Локальные черты - доминируют2.
3. Вовлеченность страны в мировой архитектурный процесс осуществляется посредством участия в закрытых конкурсах мировых звезд. Впрочем, ценность представляемых ими проектов редуцируется соблюдением пп. 1 и 2.

В конкурсе на проект мариинской сцены программа была составлена столь жестко, что предложения иностранных участников отличались в основном лишь решением фасада. Проект Перро был оригинальным, во всяком случае не повторял, как это впоследствии стало популярным у его коллег, предыдущие работы. Последующие злоключения Перро с согласованиями показали несоответствие его архитектуры стремительно формирующейся традиции. Мариинский конкурс - это начало, границы условны, канон еще не выкристаллизовался.

Конкурсы на проекты реконструкции Новой Голландии (2006) и стадиона им. Кирова (2006) были достаточно невнятными, несмотря на присутствие в первом имени Фостера, а во втором - Курокавы. Фостеровский проект Новой Голландии странным образом передает дух советских зрелищных сооружений 1970-х. Кинетические конструкции Курокавы произвели впечатление на местную публику, но даже технологичность этого проекта намеренно провинциальна.

Уважение Колхааса к советскому модернизму, неоднократно им продекларированное, особенно отчетливо выразилось в его конкурсном проекте территории "Балтийской жемчужины" на юго-западе Петербурга (2005). Картинки к проекту показывают типичный позднесоветский район. Одинаковые параллелепипеды, расставленные среди чахлой зелени в порядке, прочитывающемся в качестве графического орнамента только на чертеже или из самолета, - абсолютно советский прием. У Колхааса, правда, в сравнении с оригиналом орнамент нарисован более свободно и раскованно и снабжен картинкой-обоснованием с магнитами и металлической стружкой. Дополняется советский микрорайон нимейеровской тарелкой и парой наклонных башен, ранее фигурировавших в проекте MVRDV для Нью-Йорка. Де Гейтер для того же конкурса изобразил башню, во многом повторяющую проект ОМА для Луисвилля, только без наклонного объема. Для де Гейтера подобное совпадение не является чем-то злонамеренным. ОМА, как известно, помимо непосредственно проектной деятельности ответственна за завершающую стадию архитектурного образования практически всех голландских студентов. А де Гейтер к тому же был многолетним сотрудником ОМА.

Через год после "Балтийской жемчужины" башня де Гейтера с незначительными изменениями снова оказалась в проекте ОМА для газпромовской штаб-квартиры, а башня из проекта НОК переместилась в газпромовский проект RMJM вообще без изменений. Если сходство архитектуры Колхааса и де Гейтера можно отнести на счет долгого сотрудничества и взаимосвязи между учеником и учителем, то идентичность башен НОК и RMJM - загадочна.

Возможно, объяснение кроется в том, что архитекторам НОК удалось найти идеальный образ здания, соответствующего современной России. Архитектура башни - не что иное, как неотрефлексированный синтез образов сакральных сооружений, порожденный неразвитым сознанием. Символы плодородия и движения, выраженные с таким азиатским простодушием, с трудом можно вообразить в европейском городе (каковым пока еще является Петербург). Несомненно, башня подобного вида вполне органично смотрелась бы в Дубае или Лагосе, но уже в Каракасе, не говоря о Москве, она выглядела бы несколько чужеродной. Однако архитектура НОК-RMJM, по всей видимости, ценится именно благодаря примитивности и архетипичности. Сложно предположить, что проектировщики обеих фирм всерьез полагают, будто бы то, что они нарисовали, - красиво. Скорее всего, они сознательно работали над созданием образа-маркировки, четко и недвусмысленно указывающего на ступень, занимаемую современной Россией в международной иерархии.

В отличие от наполненной примитивной витальностью башни НОК-RMJM, звезды представляют на российских конкурсах проекты, которые либо являются самоповторами, либо сделаны "вполсилы", на уровне несколько ниже обычного. "Переходящая башня" Колхааса - де Гейтера уже упоминалась, но есть еще газпромовские проекты Нувеля (Фонд Картье, 2006) и Фуксаса (леонидовский Наркомтяжпром на территории Fierra Milano). Одним словом, интеллектуалы и художники - все они оказались не на высоте, и образ "России - G.P.O." в их версиях не мог удовлетворить заказчиков. Естественно, последним пришлось выбирать бодрых проектантов-для-ОАЭ3.

Особенностью официальной риторики в СССР и в постсоветской России служит то, что процент честной, соответствующей действительности информации достаточно велик. Просто она излагается в настолько специфически-уродливых формах, что кажется пустым ритуальным говорением, лишенным всякого смысла. Именно это и получилось в ситуации с газпромовской башней. Официальное намерение создать новый символ Санкт-Петербурга и России озвучивалось достаточно широко, и ведь это действительно совершенно честное и рациональное побуждение. Петербург наполнен образами, на удивление неактуальными в наше время. Памятники имперским военным победам не имеют никакого отношения к нынешней России, - это вообще другое государство. Единственное, что кажется совершенным хамством, - желание возвести современный памятник рядом со старыми. Но если переместить башню куда-нибудь на юго-запад, поближе к Стрельне, - все будет прекрасно. Не следует носить табличку с надписью G.P.O. на груди, достаточно простого осознания себя в этом качестве.

Алексей Левчук - архитектор, автор общественных и жилых интерьеров. В 1990-х годах работал в ОМА. Лауреат ряда премий в области архитектуры и дизайна. Публикуется в журнале "Проект Россия". Живет в Петербурге

1Владимир Паперный. Культура 2 (1-е изд.: М., 1985)
2Под локальными чертами понимаются традиции поздне-советского модернизма как в области градостроительства, так и в области формообразования, воспринимаемые иностранными архитекторами с подозрительным энтузиазмом
3Не правда ли, история газпромовского конкурса как-то слишком настойчиво перекликается с конкурсом на проект Дворца Советов? Формирование стиля, западные участники, оказавшиеся не в состоянии передать дух времени, итоговая композиция и размеры здания, - аналогии настолько прямые, что даже неловко об этом писать. Состав участников в современном конкурсе, правда, существенно представительнее. Для поклонников Владимира Паперного - обширное поле для умозаключений

источник:
"ПРОЕКТ БАЛТИЯ"
№2 (2) 2007